Running for Meg :: #MegsMiles

I logged 5.3 for Meg. Be safe out there, my runner friends.

I logged 5.3 for Meg. Be safe out there, my runner friends.

On Saturday, I headed out for a mid-day run. I usually try to get my longer weekend run finished up first thing in the morning so I can spend the rest of the day with my girls. But Saturday’s run was different. I was running for Meg Menzies, a local Richmond-area runner who was tragically killed by a drunk driver while out for her morning run on January 13, 2014.

Meg was an avid runner, member of the Richmond Road Runners Club and Boston marathoner. She was a member of the running family nationwide. In her honor, runners everywhere were asked to run Saturday as a way to raise awareness of drunk driving, texting and driving, and overall safety of runners and cyclists everywhere.

Facebook event was created for runners to post their mileage that day and pictures from their runs.

It was moving, to say the very least. Throughout the day, runners from across the globe posted to Meg’s Miles. Twitter and Instagram were flooded with #MegsMiles hashtags.

I am truly heartbroken for Meg’s family. She leaves behind a husband in law enforcement and three young children. However, I’m humbled by the worldwide running community and their show of support for Meg.

I logged 5.3 miles for Meg on Saturday. It was an emotional run.

Be safe out there, my friends.

Gotta run,
Kristen

Leave a Reply

